20th Annual Ted Breihan Open Golf Tournament 2023

The 20th Annual LBJ Museum of San Marcos Ted Breihan Open Golf Tournament was held Friday, April 21, 2023, at Kissing Tree Golf Club in San Marcos, Texas.

Ted Breihan

The Annual LBJ Museum of San Marcos Ted Breihan Open Golf Tournament honors Ted Breihan and his impact on the community of San Marcos. Ted was a longtime board member of the LBJ Museum in San Marcos which led to the establishment of the golf tournament. The tournament has been a fundraiser for the museum for 20 years.

Ted received many honors and awards for his commitment to this community through the seven decades he made San Marcos his home.  He was grateful that he could be a part of the betterment of the city he so loved. Ted’s leadership and community service have left a resounding mark on San Marcos and will be recognized for many years to come. His heart was as big as Texas, and he shared it fully.

The Tournament

The tournament began with a shotgun start at 8 Friday morning. For the second year in a row, first place was won by the team sponsored by Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, Attorneys at Law. Each player received a beautiful glass decanter and stopper with a pewter seal that reads “Seal of the President of the United States.”

(Left-Right) Vicente Perez, Billy Rodgers, Lupe Carbajal, and Todd Crosby

Coming in as a close second place was the team sponsored by Carbajal Associates. Each player received two double old-fashioned glasses with the presidential seal.

(Left-Right) Randall Henry, Pedro
Quintero, Jesse Sanchez, and not pictured is Jerry DeLeon.

Placing third was the team sponsored by Premier Cuts. Each player received a pewter flask with the presidential seal.

(Left-Right) Brian Olson, Jeremiah
Pizana, Jason Dixon and Nate Steinbacher.

Other teams competing in the tournament were those sponsored by Germer Insurance, Ted Breihan Electric, USA Softball of Texas sponsored by John Naverrete, Elliott Electric Supply, Inc., Sunset Bowling, Rexel USA, Bob Sudela, and Central Texas Refuse.

John Valdez from team Rexel USA won closest to the hole and Nate Steinbacker from the Premier Cuts team had the longest drive.

“We were very pleased at the response to this year’s LBJ Museum of San Marcos Ted Breihan Memorial Golf Tournament,” said Wayne Kraemer, Museum Board President. “This marks the 20th anniversary of the tournament. We want to thank all of the teams that entered, our sponsors, and Kissing Tree Golf Club for making it a wonderful event.

Thank You to all our sponsors

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Thank you to these local businesses and individuals who sponsored the holes at our tournament!

Dr. Carmen Imel

Frost Bank

Dr. Ed Mihalkanin

Texas State Department of Political Science

Aart & Melissa Millecam

Chloe & John Navarrette for donating the golfballs

Lonestar Electric Supply


Insurance One Agency LC.

Thank You, to our Cart Sponsor

Thank you to these restaurants who donated to our Dining Adventure Raffle!

Ivar’s River Pub

San Marcos BBQ

Anchor Bar San Marcos

Hermanos Taqueria & Bakery Resturaunt

Casa Maria Mexican Restaurant Bar & Bakery, San Marcos

Blue Dahlia Bistro, San Marcos

Schulze’s Pit Room

Café on the Square, San Marcos

Cheddars Scratch Kitchen

The Root Cellar Café, San Marcos

Pho Tran88, San Marcos

Tito’s Handmade Vodka

Thank you to the companies who generously sponsored our breakfast and snacks!